

Clerks to the Council/Chief Executives

1891-94	Clement W Mumford
1894-1935	Edwards N V Moyle
1935-37	Ernest Grantham
1937-43	Philip E J Stewart
1943-46	William Hopwood
1946-54	Rowland M Stephenson
1954-76	Roland Phillips
1976-80	John Woosnam
1980-87	Ivan Glover
1987-92	Leonard W Michell
1992-2013	Philip S Hygate
2014-19	Theodorus A H M Leijser
2020-	Paul Masters

Acting and interim appointments are not included

Rowland M Stephenson is the only person to have served as both clerk to the council (1946-54) and a member of council (1955-72).