Statements of Persons Nominated issued for May elections

Details of the persons nominated for the local and police and crime commissioner elections on Thursday 6 May have now been released.

Local election

One person was nominated for each of the following islands: St Agnes, St Martin’s and Tresco. Consequently the Returning Officer has declared Harry Legg of St Agnes, Toby Tobin-Dougan of St Martin’s and Robert Dorrien-Smith of Tresco to be elected without a contest. The new appointments will begin on Monday 10 May.

13 people have been nominated for the 12 seats on St Mary’s:

BEDFORD, Anita Heather


FRANCIS, Robert Dennis


GUY, Andy


MARCUS, Daniel Michael

MUMFORD, Avril Washington

NELHAMS, Michael Anthony

RODGER, Alexander Euan

SIMS, Steve

WATT, Steve

WILLIAMS, Joel Gordon

A contest on St Mary’s will therefore be required.

No persons were nominated for Bryher. Consequently the Returning Officer is required to order an election to fill the vacancy on a day appointed by him which must be no later than Friday 25 June. A notice of election will be issued in due course but not until after the May elections have passed.

The statements of persons nominated and the declarations of result may be found here.

Police and Crime Commissioner election

Four people are standing to be police and crime commissioner for the Devon and Cornwall police area:

BLAKE, Brian Samuel Liberal Democrats

DERRICK, Gareth Gwyn James Labour Party

HERNANDEZ, Alison The Conservative Party Candidate

JACKSON, Stuart Paul Green Party candidate

The Statement of Persons Nominated and Notice of Poll for the police and crime commissioner election may be found here.

Registering to vote

To vote in these elections, you need to be on the electoral register. If you are not currently on the electoral register, you can submit an application online at

If you are unable to register online, you can apply by post. The relevant form can be downloaded here. Once completed, you can post the form to the Electoral Registration Officer, Town Hall, St Mary’s, TR21 0LW or email photographs/scans to

If you cannot print the form, please contact us on 01720 424545 or at and we will send a hard copy in the post.

If you were registered to vote in the last election and your details have not changed, you do not need to take any action. If in doubt, you can check with us.

In order to take effect for the elections on Thursday 6 May:

applications to register to vote must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by Monday 19 April.

applications for new postal votes, or for amendments to existing postal and proxy votes, must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by 5pm on Tuesday 20 April.

applications to vote by proxy must reach the Electoral Registration Officer by 5pm on Tuesday 27 April.

A set of Frequently Asked Questions may be found here.

Publishing date: 
Friday, 9 April, 2021